Weed Art

St Barnaby's Thistle, after the flower died. I believe these are the seeds, but I could be wrong.

St Barnaby’s Thistle, after the flower died. I believe these are the seeds, but I could be wrong.

St Barnaby's Thistle, under flashlight.

St Barnaby’s Thistle, under flashlight.

Now some of you may have been attracted by the heading of Weed Art, and you may have had a twinge of excitement, for a moment. You could be forgiven for thinking it was about the weed that smashes your brains. But it is about the boring subject of gardens, and the ordinary type of weeds that annoy most gardeners.

You can tell how bored I am by my photography experiments, and exercises with the macro photos I spend my time on.

Nevertheless, I think these photos are spectacular. I brought the weed inside, to an ordinary room in the late afternoon. The flash was required, and wow, look at what I have. Unbelievable that this is nature, and this is a weed.

Note, no fancy or expensive camera or equipment used here. A Canon EOS 400D, with a Fotar  58mm +10 Filter. The camera is ordinary, the filter cost $89 here in Australia, but you can probably buy it for half the price elsewhere. I have done a small crop on the original photos, as the subject is about 1.5 inches in diameter for the first photo, (larger circle subject), and about 3/4 inch in height for the last photo.
Enjoy.

St Barnaby's Thistle, showing the seeds, with a dead flower with emerging seeds behind.

St Barnaby’s Thistle, showing the seeds, with a dead flower with emerging seeds behind.

Leave a Reply

