My new Cartoons for my book

Alternative riding position to avoid the bird attacks.

Alternative riding position to avoid the bird attacks.

Riding back to front is very easy, but it all depends on the pony involved.

Riding back to front is very easy, but it all depends on the pony involved.

I decided that I would need visualisations, as pictures of some of the things we did as young children growing up on the farm. Hence my cartoon sketches.  I am not going to be able to find photographs as examples to show you. Bear in mind that most of these pranks were done away from parents prying eyes. Also in those days, the camera used film, and required to be developed by adults. Of course if we had the same technology then as we have now, then we would have had numerous photos of each other performing some of the feats we did then.

This cartoon shows how we used to cling to the side of our horses, to hide from the swooping birds. I doubt too many children could ride a horse like this. A professional trick rider would be able to perform similar feats, but we were just little children.

There were different birds swooping us at different times of the years. The plovers would swoop very close to the body, and usually came from the back, they would screech as they swooped and come as close as an inch or so to us. The Magpies attacked at a different period, but they would try to hit your face or back. It was very scary trying to ride a horse with a bird attacking. We had no option, as walking received similar attacks and also took a very long time to round-up the cattle.

We would have one leg clinging over the back of the horse, with the other leg wrapped around the horse’s belly, with an arm reaching over the neck, the other arm clutching the reins under the horse’s neck.  At least this way the birds could not see us to attack from the top of the horse, in the normal riding position. Sometimes the birds would notice us on the side of the horse and swoop in for an attack, but that did not happen too often.

I have done two rough sketches for my cartoons so far. Each cartoon sketch was completed in roughly ten minutes each. I am happy with the drawing of the ponies, but I  need to do more work on the riders. I expect the cartoon sketches will improve in the future.

3 responses to “My new Cartoons for my book

Leave a Reply

