Reached a Milestone with my Book

Six Carter & Spencer children, the stars in the book, cartoons and illustrations. The children almost always appeared to be smiling, unless something went wrong with one of their tricks, escapades.

Six Carter & Spencer children, the stars in the book, cartoons and illustrations. The children almost always appeared to be smiling, unless something went wrong with one of their tricks, escapades.

I have reached a Milestone with my Book, completing half of my goal of 40,000 words in just under three months. My goal was to write a minimum 200 page book, the story of my life growing up on the farm in country Australia in the 1950’s -1960’s. It was one of the few goals that did not have a deadline, and time limit. Accordingly I am surprised that I have reached the milestone so soon.

My goal did not include the recent addition of illustrations and cartoons to this project. They were additional items, which I believe enhance the visual appeal of the book.

I estimate I have approximately 100 pages of stories  completed so far. When I add the cartoons, illustrations and photographs, plus about six pages of our Family Trees, I may have about 175 pages, out of the goal of 200 pages.

The main reason for writing the book is to tell some of the stories about the people who played their part in the history of Australia, and to pass on these stories to future generations.

Now I need your feedback, in your opinion, how many books  should I print ? I will be self publishing, simply because I do not believe the book will be taken up by any publishers. How many books would you print, 100 books or less. Alternatively would you consider buying the book. I was not considering publishing as an ebook, but rather a hard copy.

ps I cannot access the WordPress Reader the page freezes, remains blank ? Nor Freshly Pressed etc.

Elizabeth Carter at  age about 2 to 3 years

Elizabeth Carter at age about 2 to 3 years

2 responses to “Reached a Milestone with my Book

  1. I have been distracted from this project, temporarily, due to some Tax Work commitments. I will be back and work on my book in a month or so. In the meantime I have decided I have many more stories to write, including more illustrations to attach to them. Another project is to incorporate some of my father’s stories into a chapter about him. He had intended to write about his very interesting life, and he took the time to record some of his stories on a tape recorder. I had promised him I would type his story to draft form for him. Unfortunately he passed away not long after, from an accident. I still have the tapes. His stories cover the period from his birth in 1891 until his death in 1973, full of early Australian history from the turn of the century.

Leave a Reply

