The Birds – New Art and other Projects

 

 

New Art Projects for 2015. Small Bird Art and The Great Egret.

I have only just discovered the Great Egret, and am fascinated by the beauty of the Fantails that it grows during the breeding Season. The Great Egret Project will be my next big project, more to come in a later article.

I am a positive person, and I like to make my promises to myself come true. My promise to myself beginning in 2015 was to find my Artistic Mojo again.

Equine Art has been my first love, and my great love in the Artistic side of me, since I was a very young girl. I am no longer involved with the horses on a regular basis. I used to do ‘Life Drawings’ of my  equine friends, and even followed them around to do the same at the big race meetings in Melbourne. I could do the same at the local country race meetings, but at this time in my life I am less motivated to do that. The big name and very popular equine racing stars do not race locally, they predominately race at the bigger city racetracks.

I know I can draw the horses easily, so I decided I can also draw any other subject if I want to.

Many of you may recall I am changing my garden to make it into a ‘Small Bird Habitat’ to attract the tiny Wrens and Finches.

Bird Photography has been a great hobby and a diversion in the past couple of years.

Beginning on February 1st , 2015 I started painting the Superb Blue Wrens and the Splendid Blue Wrens. They are all shown here from beginning to end. There are seven incomplete water colours of these birds. My Small Bird Art Project started off a bit wonky, but I feel I may have nailed it by the end of the first week. Mind you I am not used to working with the Water Colours, as I prefer the oils and acrylics. I used Faber Castell Water Colour Pencils for the first time. It is an interesting medium to work with. Next time I believe I will use acrylics for the Bird Art, which will give me more control, and more choice in mixing the colours to match to the birds.

In the meantime let me know what you think  about my efforts so far.

1st Attempt. Looks a bit dodgy to me, had trouble getting the colours correct.

1st Attempt. Looks a bit dodgy to me, had trouble getting the dimensions and the colours correct.

2nd Bird, this was superior compared to  y 1st bird, but it appears stoic to me. I think the dimensions are a bit out of whack.

2nd Bird, this was superior compared to my 1st bird, but it appears stoic to me. I think the dimensions are a bit out of whack.

4th Bird. I am much happier with this bird, dimensions look good, but still a problem trying to match the exact colours of the bird. This one is the Splendid Blue Wren.

4th Bird. I am much happier with this bird, dimensions look good, but still a problem trying to match the exact colours of the bird. This one is the Splendid Blue Wren.

5th Bird.  Greatly improved overall.

5th Bird. Greatly improved overall.

3rd Bird, a Female Fairy Wren. Improvement noticed here, with more control over the Water colours.

3rd Bird, a Female Fairy Wren. Improvement noticed here, with more control over the Water colours.

6th Bird. Splendid Blue Wren. Dimensions are improved and the colours are much better.

6th Bird. Splendid Blue Wren. Dimensions are improved and the colours are much better.

7th Superb Blue Wren. I am quite happy with this one. None of the seven birds are finalised. Getting the detail of the wing feathers in details is alluding me using the Water Colour as the medium.  The water runs into and blurs the work.

7th Superb Blue Wren. I am quite happy with this one. None of the seven birds are finalised. Getting the detail of the wing feathers in details is alluding me using the Water Colour as the medium. The water runs into and blurs the work.

Leave a Reply

