Live your life, being true to yourself.

5 regrets of Dying

Live your life, being true to yourself. Your goals are to hold no regrets at the end of your life.

Live your life being true to yourself.
Do not live your life just doing what other people expect of you.
Most parents expect you to have a career, or a trade in order for you to earn a living.
Next many parents expect you to marry, settle down, raise a family.
But what if you want something different.? What if you want to become the best person you can be, in your career. your life, to the very best of your abilities ?

 Why settle for a job, simply to earn a living ? Why not aim higher, so you enjoy what you will do, for at least for 8-10 or more hours a day.
Why settle for mediocrity, when you can become so much more than that.

Why marry and settle down to have a family, when you do not want to do that?

 The note that went viral, “5 Regrets of the Dying”, by Bonnie Ware, the Palliative Care Nurse is about older people and their most common regrets at the end of their lives. It is a lesson for the younger generations. Be true to yourself, to your personal and career goals, and your plans for your life. Do not live your life the way your family and friends have planned for you. It is your life, you decide the path you will take.

I only came across the note “5 regrets of the Dying” today, and I can understand and empathise with the people who go to their graves with many regrets.

I am not one of those people, who have many regrets. I am a happy person, and I have been for the most part of my life. I know my attitude irks and annoys some people. I may even annoy many people with my happy attitude. I am aware that my happy disposition does annoys many people. My happy attitude is against their unhappy, whingeing, complaining disposition. Those people who are unhappy, appear to me to choose to be unhappy.  Regardless of their lives, which for all intent and purposes are along the lines of the average middle-income person, they feel compelled to complain about every little tiny thing that makes them unhappy.

I am not like those people above, who die unhappy, with many regrets. I was true to myself, I lived my life as I chose to. I am a happy person, but I believe my happiness irks many people. 

My happiness with life comes from within. I do not seek or need external influences to make me happy. The simplest things make me happy. In retirement, I find I also constantly move my focus of attention, in my artistic pursuits, from one goal or achievement to the next. I guess I have always made time to stop and smell the roses, or marvel at nature, or marvel at the animals, and always to marvel at my family.

Please do not interpret my message as an excuse to ignore your responsibilities as an adult.  I am not proposing that life is about having a party that lasts all your life, with no care nor responsibilities.

On the contrary, I propose one leads a well planned and structured life. It takes dedication to stand up for your beliefs, to ignore the many and variable interjections, alternatives means, that family and friends will employ against you,  to take your mind away from your goals.

For those younger people, who are caught in circumstances that do not allow an easy means to change their position, do not despair. Make a promise to yourself to change your circumstances, to become the real you, the real person you originally hoped to become.

Long term plans and goals take time to implement, but you can start the planning process now. Spend the time to list the things in your life that you would like to change, to improve. Then spend some time researching the studies, options whatever it is you need to do the make your goals and plans come true. Lastly, prepare your plan, with a list of steps you must take to make that plan come true. Your plan should include time limits to achieve each step that you must take.

Welcome the new happier person, you are about to become. Enjoy your journey on the path to your new life.

 

One response to “Live your life, being true to yourself.

  1. Dr Norman Vincent Peale’s book, “The Power of positive thinking” is a must read, if you think the problem is too great. It is an easy to read book, in simple everyday style that most people can understand.

Leave a Reply

