One of my latest Art Projects, drawings of my late family.

I am using very old photographs as models to capture those in my family that have passed over. I find I really must try to separate myself from my subjective feelings about my loved ones, and look at the photographs from an objective view. I find taking photographs of my drawings as WIP, helps me to see the drawing objectively. In todays example with the drawing of my late father, I can see many areas that require adjustments.

I believe anyone can copy a photograph, no special artistic abilities required. Copying a photograph however, offers one good practice in learning to copy what one see’s either in their daily life or in their head. The ability to draw from life offers many advantages, as in learning to see things in perspective, and seeing subtle tones and shadows.

Subjectivity is a problem for me when it comes to drawing and painting my loved ones, both people and animals alike. I find I can draw other horses, and animals much easier, then I can my  own very loved animals.

As you will note from the following examples, they are very subjective.

You can see much better examples of drawings copied, or my cartoons which come from the head alone, at my Art Page on Facebook.https://www.facebook.com/ElizabethAKilpatrick/

Percival John Carter 1891-1974 my late father at age 75 years.

Percival John Carter 1891-1974 my late father at age 75 years.

Percival John Carter 1891-1974 my late father at age 75 years. Photo used for the drawing.

Percival John Carter 1891-1974 my late father at age 75 years. Photo used for the drawing.

Melissa Ann Kilpatrick 1966-2012 My late daughter, age 14 with one of her horses named Angel.

Melissa Ann Kilpatrick 1966-2012 My late daughter, age about 9-10 with one of her horses named Angel. Angel was a young foal that I bought aged about 8 months old. I trained her and broke her in.

Melissa Ann Kilpatrick 1966-2012 My late daughter, age 14 with one of her horses named Angel.

Melissa Ann Kilpatrick 1966-2012 My late daughter, age 14 with one of her horses named Angel.

Melissa Ann Kilpatrick 1966-2012 My late daughter, age 5, with one of her horses named Snowy.

Melissa Ann Kilpatrick 1966-2012 My late daughter, age 5, with one of her horses named Snowy.

Melissa Ann Kilpatrick 1966-2012 My late daughter, age 14 with one of her horses named Angel.

Melissa Ann Kilpatrick 1966-2012 My late daughter, age 14 with one of her horses named Angel.

Leave a Reply

